Gone Girl 

I normally prefer to read a book instead of listening to it. But lately I’ve been spending a lot of time walking and working, I was far from progressing in reading and finally audiobooks were the easy solution for my  laziness. I have just finished listening to Gone Girl. I liked the book that I recommended it to my friends – they are far too lazy to even listen as it may seem… yes you. Talking about the book now, it was a new experience, I love it when I get that sensation from a book. A well plotted book, enough to enter and manipulate your mind and actually start to make you think. The book talks about marriage, a five years marriage between Nick and Amy Dunne that gradually descended to a very dark low place. Reminds me of the movie Mr. and Mrs. Smith, both husband and wife are those beautiful and successful people, who have known each other from one side (the perfect picture side), and yet along the years discovered a different side of their partner that matched their own hidden side. Let me tell you though, Gone Girl and Mr. and Mrs. Smith have only that in common. There is this saying, “we are all searching for someone whose demons play well with ours”. Whether it’s a friend, a sibling, a spouse or a soulmate, it matters to have that person understand and accept imperfections in us. Just enough to be ourselves around them and knowing we are not being judged, that we are safe. The book describes the many stages of the relationship between Nick and Amy, and the outside influences of their worlds that either brought them closer to one another or further apart. The twists and turn of the events in the book is what made it very interesting and worth the 18 hours of listening. There are no heroes in the book, it’s not that type of book that is going to make it alright at the end. No one is pure good, or pure bad, everyone ends up doing what their interest leads them. So give it a try!  

Leave a Reply

